Braised “Lion Head” Meatballs (紅燒獅子頭)

23 Mar

Meatballs!

***I apologize for the quality of my photos.  Please know that I understand the importance of visuals in food blogging and am working on it. ***

First of all, what a funny name.  Disclaimer: Lion heads are NOT made of lion meat.  They start with a combination of 3:7 ratio fat to lean ground pork.  To make 10-12 fist size meatballs, you need about 1.5 lbs of ground pork.

Mix the pork with white pepper; one table spoon of rice wine; one table spoon of soy sauce; 20 shitake mushrooms, chopped; and— one box of soft tofu, broken down to tiny pieces. When I first learned of the tofu ingredient, I was surprised.  But apparently by adding tofu, the meatballs will have a silkier texture. You may also add other crunchy ingredients such as water chestnut, dried shrimp, etc.  Different chefs get liberal with what they like in their meatballs.  For me, I chopped some ginger for the crunchy purpose.

After thorough mixing and kneading, form the pork mixture into fist size meatballs, and throw each one down against the bowl repeatedly to loosen the meat.  This technique is used across cultures: Italian meatballs need this step too, to make the texture of the meat more gelatinous, of which Chinese people call “flicking at your teeth (彈牙).”

Work that right arm...

Now roll them meatballs in corn starch and pan fry all sides until golden.  At the same time, start a pot of water to blanch some Napa cabbage.  I used about 10 leaves.  They shrink after being blanched, so if you want your veggies, don’t be shy.  The water used for blanching can also serve as the soup base for the meatballs.  To make the soup: Add a few pieces of ginger, one scallion, and a dash of soy sauce and a table spoon of rice wine to the water.  Depending on what you like, you can add more shitake mushrooms (as I did), or bamboo shoots.  Once the soup came to a boil, add them meatballs in there.  Now give the meatballs a nice long bath by simmering at low heat for at least 45 minutes.  To complete the dish, add rehydrated maun bean threads to the pot when ready to serve.

Voila, now you are a lion head eater.


27 Responses to “Braised “Lion Head” Meatballs (紅燒獅子頭)”

  1. healthy dinner recipes May 26, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you
    require any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  2. All Body Workout May 26, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

    Hello I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was
    looking on Google for something else, Anyways I am here now and would
    just like to say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round exciting blog
    (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all
    at the moment but I have book-marked it and also
    added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  3. Buy Lipo 13 May 26, 2014 at 6:59 pm #

    Have you ever considered publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other
    websites? I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would
    love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to
    send me an e-mail.

  4. Splendyr May 26, 2014 at 7:27 pm #

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.

    The problem is something too few men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I came across this in my hunt for
    something concerning this.

  5. cancel natural green cleanse May 26, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

    Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thank you

  6. vital cleanse diet May 26, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

    I am not positive the place you are getting your info, but
    good topic. I needs to spend a while finding out more
    or understanding more. Thanks for excellent info I used to be in search of this
    information for my mission.

  7. Http://Www.Madrid.Datehome.Eu/Ladonohue May 26, 2014 at 9:47 pm #

    I’m no longer certain the place you’re getting your info,
    however great topic. I needs to spend some time studying much more or understanding more.

    Thank you for great information I used to be
    looking for this information for my mission.

  8. Its such as you learn my mind! You appear to understand a lot about this, like you wrote
    the ebook in it or something. I think that you can do with some % to drive the message home a bit,
    but other than that, that is wonderful blog.
    A great read. I’ll certainly be back.

  9. Pro Trim Diet May 28, 2014 at 5:44 am #

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you are
    going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;) Cheers!

  10. www.thepennyparlor.com May 28, 2014 at 4:12 pm #

    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  11. working from home May 28, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself
    or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any methods to help protect against
    content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  12. elk antlers for dogs May 29, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    I think the admin of this site is genuinely working hard for his web page,
    because here every material is quality based material.

  13. Bedroom Guardian reviews May 30, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

    I am in fact grateful to the owner of this web site who has shared this enormous article at here.

  14. bed bug products May 30, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

    It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from this paragraph as well as from our dialogue made here.

  15. Slim Garcinia Premium reviews May 31, 2014 at 3:36 am #

    Hello everybody, here every person is sharing such knowledge, so it’s
    nice to read this web site, and I used to visit this web site all
    the time.

  16. forskohlii side effects May 31, 2014 at 5:06 am #

    Very good site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about here?

    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get comments from other experienced
    people that share the same interest. If you have any
    recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

  17. garcinia Cambogia extract with Hca May 31, 2014 at 6:43 pm #

    Hi there, this weekend is good in favor of me, because this occasion i am reading this enormous
    educational post here at my house.

  18. Cleanse Plus Diets June 10, 2014 at 6:45 am #

    What a information of un-ambiguity and preserveness of
    valuable familiarity regarding unpredicted feelings.

  19. plusclassifieds.com.au July 18, 2014 at 8:14 pm #

    Yes! Finally someone writes about build a home.

  20. creatine supplements July 30, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am in fact impressed to read everthing
    at alone place.

  21.  colon cleanse reviews August 2, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?
    My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my
    visitors would definitely benefit from some of the
    information you present here. Please let me know if this okay with you.

    Many thanks!

  22. yoga for weight loss August 3, 2014 at 8:07 pm #

    I have read so many posts concerning the blogger lovers however this paragraph is truly a fastidious post, keep it up.

  23. best weight Loss pills August 7, 2014 at 9:00 am #

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m
    impressed! Very useful information specially the last part :) I care for such information much.
    I was looking for this certain information for a long time.

    Thank you and good luck.

  24. best weight loss August 10, 2014 at 12:55 pm #

    That is a really good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Simple but very precise information… Appreciate your
    sharing this one. A must read article!

  25. diet tips and fitness goals reviews September 22, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

    I am actually thankful to the holder of this web page who has shared this
    fantastic post at at this place.

  26. gitabhoomi.com September 24, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically
    tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping
    maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Namesake of Lion-Head « l k t c - March 25, 2011

    […] These meatballs were originally served to the emperor and the aristocrats, and considered quite a fancy treat.  It had a different name back then: Sunflower Treasure, as it was served to the rich and famous during the occasion of viewing sunflowers in bloom.  But soon the politically savvy at the time found a even better name for it, as the flag of the dynasty featured a lion, and the meatballs at the time were the size of wash basin— hence the “lion-head.” […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

